What is Rotator Cuff Syndrome?

Published on August 11, 2016 by shiva

Rotator cuff syndrome is also called as shoulder injury. Rotator cuff is a small group of muscles that controls the ball and socket joint movement of shoulder. There are four rotator cuff muscles that are involved in moving hands front and back. The four rotator cuff muscles are:
1. Subscapularis
2. Supraspinatus
3. Infraspinatus
4. Teres minor

These four muscles are responsible to stabilize and control your shoulder movements. The name defines the function of rotator cuff muscle. The rotator cuff muscles forms a cuff around the head of the shoulder ball as it helps in rotation. Rotator cuff muscles are involved in day-to-day activities. It is involved in throwing, catching and pulling activities. In rotator cuff syndrome patients will have pain and inflammation in the rotator cuff muscles and bursa and tendon are inflamed.

Generally patients experience elevating hand pain while moving their hands during day and while sleeping. Patients are unable to sleep on one side where there is pain. If the rotator cuff syndrome persists for longer time it becomes painful and in severe conditions it leads to rotator cuff tear. In rotator cuff tear the muscle will detach itself from the joint and the patient will not be able to lift the hands. It generally results in losing the movement ability.

Keyhole surgery or endoscopic surgeries are required to treat the patients suffering with rotator cuff tear. Key hole surgery helps in reattaching the rotator cuff muscle to its native position and regains the movement.

Category Tag

Add your comment